Menu

Overture

Overture

Dans la tradition de nombreuses grandes propriétés de Bordeaux, Opus One produit un second vin baptisé Overture. Tel un prélude à une grande œuvre musicale, Overture présente les mêmes composants que notre vin d'exception de référence, mais dans une proportion moindre.

Depuis 1993, la création d'Overture est l'aboutissement du processus très sélectif que nous avons mis en place pour Opus One.  Nous cultivons minutieusement chaque hectare de notre vignoble avec le souci du détail et l'attention particulière que nécessite la production d'Opus One.  Cette recherche de la perfection se retrouve tout au long du processus d'assemblage, et tous les lots de notre domaine ne sont pas retenus pour l'assemblage final d'Opus One.

Mais grâce à la conservation plus longue de ces lots restants en fûts de chêne français et à la possibilité d'assembler plusieurs millésimes, Overture, le vin final, est d'une élégance, d'une complexité et d'une accessibilité remarquables. 

Prolongement naturel de la création d'Opus One, la composition des cépages d'Overture évolue en fonction des sélections de lots effectuées pour chaque millésime. Overture reflète la proportion des cépages issus de Bordeaux plantés sur notre domaine : Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Petit Verdot et Malbec. Overture exprime de manière unique l'essence de notre domaine avec plusieurs millésimes : l'assemblage et l'organisation de la cave sont donc systématiquement différents de ceux d'Opus One.

Commander ce vin

In the tradition of many great Bordeaux estates, Opus One produces a fine second wine called Overture. Like the introduction of a great musical piece, Overture, the wine, presents elements of the exceptional work itself, although certainly not in it’s entirety or full complexity.

Since 1993, we have created Overture as a result of our highly selective process for Opus One.  We meticulously cultivate each section of our estate vineyard with the attention to detail and singular focus required to produce Opus One.  This diligence carries through the extensive blending process, and not all wine-lots from our estate are chosen for the final Opus One blend.

Yet, when these remaining lots are afforded additional time in French oak barrels coupled with the added flexibility of blending across multiple vintages, the final wine, Overture, achieves remarkable elegance, complexity and approachability.

As a natural extension of the creation of Opus One, Overture’s varietal composition evolves based on the lot selections made for each vintage. Overture reflects the proportion of Bordeaux-heritage grape varieties planted on our estate: Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, Petit Verdot and Malbec. Uniquely, Overture captures the essence of our estate across vintages; therefore the exact blend and cellar approach will always differ from Opus One.

As we have done on occassion in the past, we are very happy to make a special offering of our second wine, Overture. Through the holiday season, shipping charges will be included in the price of six-bottle cases. The offer will be extended to you through December 19th of this year.